large villa crete private pool Kreta family holidays  
  villas crete with private pools Greek Flag  
  Guest reviews...

Villa Selene

"Perfect" - Jayne G, April 2015 via Homeaway Holiday Rentals

Selene is all it is said to be and more. We all loved our new home for 10 days, never quite getting used to the stunning veiws of the White Mountains so close. The setting is so peaceful..surrounded by Olive grove with so many wild birds and flowers and the sound of sheep and goat bells as they grazed nearby. We felt part of the community and enjoyed practising our very Imited Greek phrases on the locals in the nearby village. They were without exception open and very friendly. The local taverna is a great sociable place for locals and visitors alike and serves lovely food. We will definitely be returning to explore more of this beautiful island.

"A large, safe, comfortable villa: ideal for all ages" - John G, from Fleet, September 2013 via TripAdvisor

The best villa we have ever stayed in, well appointed and very well designed. Lovely views of the mountains in a quiet and private location. The pool is large and safe and the large shaded patio is a bonus. Excellent support from local staff is there when needed. Great to have recommendations about cheap and reliable car hire, local places of interest and restaurants. We are going back again this year.

"I've been 6 times!" - David Howett, from Buxton, February 2013 via TripAdvisor

The support received from the property management staff is very good and they will quickly resolve any issues that come to light. It's just like having your own tourist information service with excellent advice and local knowledge on such things as places to see, how to see a doctor or the best butcher to use to get supplies for a barbeque. The villa is well appointed and made our stay very comfortable. What I liked most of all is the fact that it is on one level so it is ideal for those with young children, with disabilities or the elderly. It is only a short drive of about 5 minutes to get to the nearest beach at Almyrida where there are shops, restaurants and bars to cater for all tastes. I liked the location of Villa Selene as it is in a quiet olive grove with another three villas under the same ownership but they are far enough apart to ensure privacy.

"Sun, Moon and 5 Cretan Stars" - John E from Manchester - July 2014 via TripAdvisor

We had a wonderful holiday staying at Villa Selene. It was a special celebration for us this year which is why we decided to take the whole family with us - two children a son in law and two grand-daughters. The villa proved to be perfect for our requirements - being a bungalow there were no stairs for the little one to deal with and the layout of the rooms meant we were very comfortably accommodated. The overhead ceiling fans combined with a light touch on the aircon made the nights very comfortable despite one or two days touching 40 Celsius. (We did appreciate that after some very torrid nights in August in previous years in Crete at other places where we had only a small desk fan.) The property was well furnished and the beds pronounced comfortable by all. The villa was well equipped for self catering and we made good use of the barbecue too. As one of the owners was in residence (in another villa nearby) we also had the benefit of his advice and help - additionally the villa and pool cleaning team did good service as advertised. We much appreciated having the private pool to use - and the design with the steps at one end meant our 18 month old granddaughter was able to play in the shallows so to speak. There is a most magnificent view of the White Mountains and the glorious sunsets from the balcony and at night the stars and the moon put on a fabulous show. As well as the satellite TV and DVD there is now a wifi set up which was well used by us - (useful tip - bring an HDMI lead to connect your laptop to the TV). Although I feel it might be better to spend time off the net while on holiday these days it seems we all have to have some connectivity. Certainly the younger generation found it most useful. The villa is within easy reach of the quiet family resort of Almyrida which has a good choice of restaurants and above all a safe and sandy beach suitable for small people. With a hire car there are many good sightseeing trips - across the mountains to Sfakia, to the water park Limnoupoulis, a visit to Chania old town or a favourite of ours - Sunday lunch with traditional roast lamb at Argiroupouli. All in all it made for lovely holiday staying in a very peaceful location but with plenty of things to do. We felt we had made a very good choice and everyone had a fantastic time.

...

Villa Helios

"Fantastic base in beautiful area" - Anne T from Frome - September 2014 via TripAdvisor

Great, well maintained villa with views of White Mountains and plenty of space for all of our grown up family. There are a small number of neighbouring villas, but each has its own pool and Villa Helios feels very private. Lovely local walks to nearby village of Gavalochori with tavernas, bakery and small shops. Long sandy beach at Almyrida where snorkelling trips are available from the beach front. Owner John dealt with our booking very efficiently and detailed information included very clear directions from Chania airport. We did as John suggested and hired a car from Auto Club of Crete and that was also hassle free. Would highly recommend.

"Nice villa in a superb setting" - Simon JR from London, July 2014 via TripAdvisor

The title says it all! A good quality villa with an excellent pool, set in a rural olive grove with a comfortable distance from other properties. 20 minute walk to the local village with some excellent places to eat and 35 minute walk to the beach. The owner and manager are also very helpful. Excellent!

"Excellent, well-equipped, quality accommodation close to Almyrida - ideal for a relaxing break" - Kevin R from Warwickshire, July 2013 via TripAdvisor

We have stayed at the same villa twice now - the first time being 2 years ago.
This is great for a lazy, pool-side holiday - we didn't move far from the pool most days. You'll need a car to get around. The accommodation is well equipped and well maintained. It has a private pool, with big terrace and plenty of sun-loungers. The pool is cleaned and filled every few days. The location is a few kilometres inland from Almyrida - a short drive - where you'll find plenty of tavernas. The closest village is a 15 minute downhill walk - where you'll find a taverna, bakers and mini-market.

...

Villa Asteria

"Perfect location for peace and privacy" - Graham J, June 2014

My wife and I chose this villa primarily because of the location. It is situated between two greek villages, one called Almirida on the coast and the other called Gavalochory a few miles inland. We had stayed at Almirida on two other occasions but found the villas there are a little cramped for outside space and it can be a little unsettling to look over the fence at other people enjoying their pool and barbeque, just a few yards away. With this in mind, we were both delighted to discover VillaAsteria has a very private pool as the nearest other house on the olive grove is several hundred meters away and really cannot be seen at all from where we were staying. (Yes, you can still hear children in the other pool, but it is a long way away and really not a problem at this distance). Walking to either village was never a problem, even for us oldies as we are quite fit and we enjoy walking anyway, but I would recommend a car for people who cannot manage a hill or two especially in the heat of the summer. We would often walk down to Almirida for an evening meal by the beach (typically around 15 euros a head, including wine, which is exceptional value) and then get a taxi back (10 euros between 4 of us). Overall, a most wonderful and relaxing holiday, the best in fact for many years and we are planning to return with our grandchildren in 2015. One final thing to say is that we had excellent service from the local staff who changed the sheets during our stay and made sure the pool was clean.

“Great location, villa and value” - Chloe A, May 2014 Via Homeaway Holiday Rentals

Hi John
Villa Asteria is totally perfect for our two-family holiday! House was spotless when we arrived, and we were immediately impressed by the size of pool and patio area. Indeed you are right that the pool is not at all overlooked, the pool is totally private, and surrounded by beautiful oleander (?) plants, very colourful. Bedroom layouts are also good, with storage and wardrobe space. There are 4 bedrooms and each has a balcony with quite breathftaking views of the mountains. It is also nice to have our own private drive, we have stayed before at other properties and had problems with the parking but no probs whatsoever at your house. A nice bonus is the Galvacory village about 15 minutes walk from the house,you were right when you said we would love the little taverna called Monica’s in the center of the village. We will certainly return this year for another excellent and might I say, good value holiday.

"Great value stay in good area of Crete" - Roddy M from Manchester, May 2013 via TripAdvisor

Really happy with the quality and cleanliness of the Villa, air conditioning in every room, shower room and bathroom so great for 1 year old we had with us. Pool is good and has significant outdoor area (this is where you spend your time anyway) Would say a car is needed as hilly walk in the heat but taxis are resanobale under 10 euro from bay to Villa. Almidya is very picturesque and Gavalochori is worth a visit. Also suggest a trip or two to Hania port. Communication from owner has been great and would recommend as superb value for money.

"Amazing villa, Great for families" - Glyn N from Crewe, May 2013 via TripAdvisor

We stayed in Villa Asteria for a week in May 2013 we are a family of four children 5 and 2. The villa was clean and well equipped with a large pool and patio area which the kids loved playing in. The villa is situated in a large plot of land containing olive trees of which the owners produce their own olive oil which was fantastic and we took two bottles back with us. The weather in May was good approx 25 degrees which was nice but not too hot for the children. The villa is a few minutes drive from the beach in Almyrida which has shallow water for the children to play in and plenty of space to choose from. Almyrida has lots of tavernas and little bars which all serve fantastic food - we can vouch for most of them we got through as many as we could in a week. In summary, the villa was a great base for us as a family quiet at night and not overlooked in the day well positioned to explore the surrounding villages and towns. Already planning our next trip!

"Novelty fun on olive picking holiday" - Neil B from London - November 2012

The owners of the villa supply quality Cretan 'Saint Basil' olive oil. They offer working holidays in November to harvest olives from their trees. It was hard work but very enjoyable. The owners provided a good Cretan style workers lunch and we ate out (as a group) at night in a variety of great value restaurants. The weather was warm and pleasant. The villa was fine as accommodation for a working holiday but would come in to its own in the summer as it extends in to a patio / swimming pool area. There are a number of villas on the same plot but they are well spaced and would afford privacy. ...

Villa Angelos

"Excellent" - Septenmber 2014 - Anonymous Review via Homeaway Holiday Rentals

We ( eight of us) had an excellent week staying at the Villa Angelos. (Four double rooms!) The villa was clean and had everything we required with regard to cutlery, table ware, glasses, bedding etc. We did not get round to using the BBQ or in fact cooking having decided to eat out at local bars recommended by the proprietor. The swimming pool and surrounds were clean and much appreciated due to the very hot weather experienced. I would not hesitate in recommending this villa for its position close to local amenities.

"The villa was perfect for us all and very comfortable" - Vicky C from Sunninghill

The views were stunning and we regularly enjoyed a sunset across the mountains in front as well as the birds of prey - spectacular! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves and are busily wishing they were there still, especially due to the fact that it is tipping down here at the moment. The weather couldn't have been more pleasant for us and the pool was always beautifully clean and a welcome treat when we came home after a trip out. We felt that the accommodation was excellent, especially for a large family such as ours.

Aeraki restaurant (thanks for the tip off) was fabulous with delicious food, and the staff were warm and friendly. Their octopus is extremely good as is the swordfish. Happy diners everywhere and very very busy. Worth booking! I can also recommend (with a little Greek - he doesn't speak much English) the little butcher in Kalyves who served us some delicious beef and other meats on several occasions for our BBQ and was gracious and helpful in the face of my rather pigeon Greek... He was on the left as you drive in from Almirida, opposite the road that leads onto the sea front (park at sea front and walk through).

Thanks again John - we are very pleased we chose Saint Basil Olive Grove and you may quote me on that! (The olive oil is delicious and we will be back for more.)

"We had a great time, villa & wheelchair ramps etc brill & worked a treat" - Mike P from Devon

We had a fab time and met some fab local people in Almirida & in Chania also all of your staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the olive oil sample it tastes wonderful - we will book again as soon as we can. Thanks again.

"We just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely stay in Villa Angelos in Crete last week! - Mark & Sandy E from Milton Keynes

We had a fantastic time - the villa was beautiful, in a great location and very well-appointed. We found all the information you provided before and during our visit was extremely useful, and thank you for recommending your friends at Auto Club for the car rental - they sorted us out a really good deal and the jeep was really handy for running about during the week. Everyone, from the cleaning staff to the villa managers and gardeners, were really helpful and friendly, which helped to make our holiday so memorable...we'll definitely be back!

...These are just some of the many testimonials we have had from our happy guests!

     
home :: our villas :: location :: weather :: prices :: flights :: car hire :: links :: contact